• KvK: 83434682
  • general@gen-k.nl
  • Utrecht University
The Board

The Board

Merel

Hi everyone! My name is Merel (she/her) and I am Chair of Gen K, which means I am the first point of contact of the association, so feel free to reach out on social media. As chair, it is my job to keep an overview of the different things that are going on with Gen K and to make sure the association is heading in the right direction. Finally, I lead the board meetings and help out wherever needed.
I am in my second year of the Gender Studies RMA and my research interests mostly relate to vulnerability. When I am not studying, you can find me cooking and baking, reading, going for walks around the neighbourhood or having a glass of wine while watching a movie or series. My guilty pleasures are Formula 1 and watching vanlife and sailing videos on YouTube.

Nina

Hi! I’m Nina (she/they) and I’m both the Secretary and the Officer of Internal Affairs for Gen K. Chances are, most of the Gen K communication you read (on the website, in the newsletter and on the socials) is coming from me. I’m also responsible for the website and our internal communication. I’m currently in my third year of the RMA and I’m about to start my thesis, which will be an exploration and intervention in the field of media representation analysis. 

When I’m not doing work for class or designing the next Gen K Instagram post, you can usually find me in the kitchen, playing videogames, or learning to tattoo. I am well-known for my brownies and I have a (strong) opinion on just about everything.

My guilty pleasures are playing Fortnite with my adult friends, consuming MCU content, stick-and-poke tattoos and owning an embarrassing variety of knives. 

Sophia

Hiya, my name is Sophia (she/her) and I am the Treasurer, as well as Member Administrator, of Gen K! You have probably seen my name come up when becoming a new member or when it comes to the yearly contribution. Currently, I am in the second year of my RMA Gender Studies trying to figure out whether I can do an internship or start my thesis about the Netherlands and understated effects of a world created for and by men. 

In my past time I like to watch series (read: binge watch), to go to concerts (whenever possible) and drink wine and coffee with friends and family. My guilty pleasures are cliché stories, in YA novels or Christmas movies as well as rings, I think I have over 15 and I often wear 5 rings at a time.

Grey

Hi there everyone, I’m Grey (they/them) and I’m the officer of external affairs for Gen K. It sounds very official but it comes down to me reaching out to sponsors and other interested parties and managing the relations between them and the association. I am currently in the 1 year MA program, looking for an internship that will allow me to help the trans community in the Netherlands. 

In my free time I like to read, write spoken words and play videogames (and dismantle the patriarchy). I also help out at Savannah Bay so feel free to pop by there! My guilty pleasure is secretly liking all the cliche YA stuff as long as it’s queer

Our website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.